My Daughter is Awesome!!

Standard

This, again, is an old post I’d never published. It has enough bragging about my daughter that I felt like it would be something positive to do on this very dreary rainy night…..

I’m one of those compulsive crafty hoarder types & I’ve accumulated more stuff from my mother and grandmothers…and aunt…. One of my current projects is to dig out lots of my vintage patterns, books, magazines & materials to share with the rest of you all….

Well, then, since I’m actually in condition to start using my (beloved vintage) yarn again, I’ve been obsessively searching for just the right yarn winder and swift. I think I’ve come to the conclusion that I can make my own… I found wonderful instructions for tinker toy and wire hanger swifts – and interesting ways people have figured out to use hand-mixers or reversible screwdrivers as ball winders.

I surrendered my ball winder to my DD for her recycled yarn project. She needs the $ for law school next year plus she’s an awesome artist… One of the most creative people you will ever meet. (Do you think I’m proud of her?)

Please see her etsy store Dyet Yarns for her luxury recycled fiber selection. Many of these are proba bly vintage to begin with but she puts her own special “twist” on them – and then you can buy yummy yarns for pennies on the dollar!!

Update: She has recently put up an even yummier set of yarns, with colors ALL inspired by Miyazaki’s Laputa: Castle in the Sky!

a. Something Worth Protectingn (Silk/Cotton Upcycled)
b. Ancient Guardian (Shortcake and Luscious)
c. Raze the Sky (Sockolate Mousse)

(see it in her blog: http://www.dyetyarns.com/archives/345)

You get the idea!
Her other store CandyCornStudios has other great creations like her jewelry & knitting- no bias here, huh?

She also sells more uber-neat creations on her own site CandyCornStudiosHub. Yeah, that’s her in the tentacle shirt….

 

I know it’s not vintage, but it sure is creative!! She does work with vintage parts too – she just doesn’t have any of her steam punk pieces up.

Leave a Reply

