Wasting away in Weekend-ville….

Standard

I’ve been quite distracted lately since I’ve been working on “officially” closing my private practice. I’ve had some things I’ve been wanting to post, and now is the time – after all, I wouldn’t want to actually get anything accomplished today, would I?

Over Memorial Day weekend,  I had planned to help my daughter sell her lovely gamer dice jewelry and hand crafted t-shirts at the local anime (read geek geeek geeeeek) convention, Animazement. Here’s a photo of her booth – and her making that “MOOOOMMMM stop! You’re such a….” face.
After a half day , it became blindingly clear that I just wasn’t up to it. And on top of that, I got a traffic ticket for expired tags…

So I found other things to do with myself…. Except sit on my heating pad and take tylenol the rest of the weekend, I mean…

First thing I decided to tackle was photographing a bunch of my very ugly 1960s-early 70s neckties. I mean Very wonderful examples of why we all remember those years fondly (OK, I was occupied playing in wading pools and reading Nancy Drew – but I’m sure someone does…).
Or maybe it’s because the generation who didn’t wear leisure suits first time around thinks they are great ways to express their individuality. (hehehe)

I needed more great vintage pieces in Dragonmum’s Wears. I’d been picking up the “vintagest of ties” I could find over the previous couple of months. Do you know there’s even an organization dedicated to the men (and it is almost all men) who actually truely collect these things? It’s called KNOTs (Kollectors of Nasty Old Ties)   So, here are several very raw shots of some glories of the 1960s to early 70s – the first 4 are Ralph Lauren – he was having a BAAADDD decade…

After I got tired of that, I thought about doing my 3rd jewelry marks post. Then I started listing all the marks I had yet to do, and decided I had to get some sort of organization before I started. Tried alphabetical, but kept finding too many Cs. I realized it’ll be about 4 or 5 more installments before I’m through that.

So what then? I also needed some new blood in Dragonmum’s Fabrics Fibers and Fun. Since I’ve been sitting on all these vintage magazines (while I was distracted by my shiny goodies) seemed like it was a good time to tackle that. I got the 1st 3 done. While looking for price comparisons on the web, I saw that there are very few of these from the 70s and most are considered rare. Hurray!! Did I mention that a friend GAVE them to me???

Back to the master file #1 for the mags – realized I needed to re-order my list because I, for some reason completely unknown to me now, didn’t photograph them in order or even in groups of the same magazines!!??? And all the price comparisons were a year old. The photos are pretty bad too. I had to think about whether to re-do them or just go with it – only so much “photoshop” can do.

Ah.  Surely I actually accomplished something…. and if you believe that, I have some lovely water-front property to sell you….

About dragonmum

Crazy life disease? Yeah. I'm in the process of downsizing the craziness. I'm concentrating on taking care of me & everything else that didn't get done while I was working outside the house. 3 kids (only one still at home), husband, father lives with me, dog, 2 evil 1/2 Siamese cats, turtle, many fish. Love vintage & Victorian jewelry, art glass, American art pottery, Asian textiles (from all of Asia), fabrics and fibers & meddling in other people's business as much as possible... Identify as lots of things - wife, mother, mental health professional, agenderish demi-hetero-romantic gray asexual, artist, good friend, blah blah blah... I'm sure there's something else, but my brain leaks on a regular basis and many things get sucked into our pet black hole. Oh yeah, we have the all ADHD 24/7 household...

Leave a Reply

